The Mamascarf Review

Before I start this review I just want to say thank you to Keira O’Mara, the lovely lady behind the Mamascarf for supplying me with a beautiful French Navy Mamascarf to try out and review.

The blurb:

Mamascarf is an award winning breastfeeding scarf that not only allows mothers to breastfeed stylishly and discreetly but also provides essential support without the need for a cushion.

The Mamascarf can be worn as a scarf, or neatly folded away. It even comes complete with a hidden pocket to store your breastpad.

  • It is easy to use and won’t draw attention to you.
  • Less distraction for your baby.
  • Hides your post pregnancy tummy.
  • Covers you before and after feeding.
  • 100% cotton and machine washable at 30 degrees.
  • The perfect gift idea for someone special who is pregnant.
  • Was invented by a breastfeeding mum for other breastfeeding mums!
  • One size fits all.
  • You can still see your baby and maintain eye contact.
  • New improved soft tactile cotton.
  • Can be used to feed any age baby.
  • The textured fabric is great for disguising creases.

What we thought: Lets be honest, the Mamascarf is a product for me! The Mamascarf is lovely, I chose the French Navy scarf as I love navy, its classic, won’t clash with my clothes and would hide a bit of dirt! It’s also available in Black, Cream and Retro Leaf, all of which are nice in their own way.

I have tried so many different ways of covering up when breast feeding but always found that shawls etc slip or are pulled by baby or limit your movement for fear of slipping etc. The Mamascarf is a scarf that ties behind your neck and then is moved into position to allow secure feeding. I followed the video on Youtube and the tips on the website to see how it was done and jumped in to try it myself. I found I had to try tying the Mamascarf a few times before I was completely happy with the positioning, eventually I put it how I wanted it and asked R to tie it for me to make sure it was ‘just right’! Now I don’t unfasten it apart from if I need to use it for something else (more on that later!)

Once on I had coverage for preparing for breast feeding as well as for feeding and removing LissyLou after her feed. It allowed me to readjust my clothes and provided a nice peaceful environment for her to feed. Although the Mamascarf is textured to both make it look pretty and hide the creases I put it on inside out one day and found that LissLou loved to stroke the textured material and it lulled her into a fantastic peaceful feed in a very busy restaurant. I could still she her face if I peeped in the top of the scarf so if she fusses or isn’t latching correctly I can sort things out without moving things. At the base of the Mamascarf there is a secret pocket for storing your breast pad, this was ideal for me as often I have sat with my pad between my knees to prevent it from getting lost! Much better to know its easy to get to. It also helps to support babies weight so you are comfier as you don’t have a little dead weight on your arm! I found it gave me a bit more freedom of movement which definitely comes in handy when you are trying to feed and eat/drink at the same time!! (Why do babies always know when you are getting a drink or having some food????)

The Mamascarf is great as it comes in use for a number of different things. On holiday this week I have used the scarf for feeding, as a shawl when it turned cool, as a hat when it rained, as a mini rain cover for LissyLou when it drizzled and as a pillow for C when he was tired!!!!! Talk about value for money, all that from one product.

The Mamascarf retails at £17.99 (plus postage), I didn’t think this was bad, a normal scarf costs anything from about £5 to £30 on the High Street and wouldn’t be as useful for feeding! I would buy this scarf as a gift for a new mum, its the sort of thing that you maybe don’t know you need until you get it, but then you don’t know what you ever did without it!!

You can also buy online at Amazon, Mamascarf Breastfeeding Scarf – Navy

2 thoughts on “The Mamascarf Review

Leave a comment

