The wonderful world of weaning – homemade food

I LOVE making baby food – there I said it! I might be sad, I might be boring but there is something so satisfying and rewarding about a baby eating and enjoying food you have made yourself. I used to make up all sorts of recipes and C ate some amazing things and really surprised people by enjoying everything I offered him, he still eats a really varied healthy diet. I am proud that I was able to make my own food for him to enjoy!

As its about 21mths since I last entered ‘The Wonderful World of Weaning’ I felt a bit unsure as to whether I could remember what babies can have and when. As I really get stuck into weaning LissyLou I feel like I need some reminders of what to do.

So I was really pleased that the lovely Annabel Karmel has sent me her New Complete Baby & Toddler Meal Planner  to read and review.

The blurb:

The number 1 bestseller totally revised with new recipes and lots of colour photography.

Since it was first published in 1991, this essential guide to feeding babies and young children has become established as a classic. Word of mouth recommendation – plus clean plates from the babies themselves – have ensured that the book has remained the number one bestseller for over a decade. With The New Complete Baby and Toddler Meal Planner in your kitchen, your child is guaranteed the very best nutritious start in life.

  • Completely revised and updated edition, endorsed by Great Ormond Street Hospital covers the entire weaning to nursery school period.
  • Nutritional advice on how to give your baby the best start in life.
  • Detailed advice on when to introduce new tastes and textures.
  • Over 200 quick and easy mouth-watering recipes to suit babies, toddlers and the whole family.
  • Time-saving tips and reassuring menu charts to help you shop and plan ahead.
What I thought:   I sat down with a big cup of tea to get to know this book. I had read one of Annabel’s books when I was weaning C and found it to be easy to read and offer some great recipes for making your own food. Now the new edition of  New Complete Baby & Toddler Meal Planner features great photos alongside the recipes, it makes it a lot easier to read and of course more interesting

The baby purees are really interesting, yes she talks about your basics like carrot, apple and banana but you’ll also find Leek, Sweet Potato and Pea and something I didn’t know babies could have Dried Apricot, Peach or Prune.

Alongside the recipes you will feed meal planners that help you know how much you should be feeding your baby and when, so for example, week one you start with all milk apart from lunch, week two you have breakfast, lunch and milk and week and increase from there. It was useful to know that you can work up to three meals pretty quickly!

The book really comes into its own from the 2nd stage of weaning as you introduce meats, fish or even tofu! There are some great recipes to try.

The book goes all the way through to food for toddlers, featuring delicious sounding recipes I must try with C like Shredded Beef with Broccoli and Annabel’s Tasty Beefburgers. Hmmm might have to give those a whirl…

Right the way through there are the meal planners so if you need ideas of how much to feed your little one you’ll find it right through to toddlerhood.

This book is great for those who have never weaned a baby before or like me have forgotten what they can have and when. I won’t be following the puree recipes myself as I prefer to come up with my own concoctions based on what I find at the supermarket or green grocers. I just mix flavours together until it looks and tastes good. But if in doubt chances are you will find a suitable puree in her book. It has given me some interesting things to make for C though and he has been very interested in seeing what looks tasty.

Good book, available on line via Annabel’s website or in large book retailers or at Amazon.co.uk

3 thoughts on “The wonderful world of weaning – homemade food

  1. Pingback: The wonderful world of weaning – shop bought food | Ramblings Of A Suburban Mummy

  2. Pingback: The Wonderful World Of Weaning – Homemade V. Shop Bought | Ramblings Of A Suburban Mummy

  3. Pingback: OXO Tot Review | Ramblings Of A Suburban Mummy

Leave a comment

