My breastfeeding days are over

My breastfeeding days are over.

LissyLou had her last feed on the 27th August 2011 at 5.30am, since then she has happily had bottles. I will add here that there must be something about the 27th as C’s last ever feed was on the 27th November 2009.

I daren’t allow myself to cry, I think if I do I might not stop. I’m sad that its all over, that she is such a big girl that she doesn’t need milk any more. But yesterday I wore a proper bra for the first time in months and today my boobs are starting to hurt less so I’m hoping that once my milk dries up I will feel better.

The end of an era, I’m not ready for my baby to be a big girl yet, I want to hold on to her as a baby for a bit longer…..

3 thoughts on “My breastfeeding days are over

  1. I am in the same boat. This is my last week breast feeding my baby. I’m a first time mom, so this is my first experience with this and I’ve already cried. Glad to know I’m not alone! Thanks for posting.

  2. We havent reached that point yet with Sam but when Elliott was 6 weeks old he REFUSED to breastfeed and NOTHING we tried would get him to latch on. I reme,ber every bottle was like a mini stab in my heart, I felt terrible. I dont want Sam to finish feeding for a long time but when he does I kind of look forward to knowing that this time I did it!

    • I’m getting there. After 3 days of bottles she tried to find the breast and I cried my heart out when she realised I wasn’t offering it, she gave me such a bewildered look. It soon disappeared, replaced with big wide eyes and mouth when she saw the bottle and the moment passed as quickly as it arrived but it broke my heart. I am looking forward to more freedom though and in particular being able to leave her without worrying that I have to get back or have pumped enough milk to keep her going!

Leave a comment

