Proving to myself how rubbish with technology I am!

I finally gave in and got an iPhone. Yes, I know I am well behind the times and everyone who’s anyone has had an iPhone for years, blah blah blah….

I have put off getting a smart phone as in all honesty I really don’t think I have much need for one. But my faithful little phone stopped working properly this week so after some deliberation I decided to upgrade.

Well the iPhone arrived and I dutifully charged it and put my SIM card in, but then what? Why wasn’t singing and dancing (that’s what they do right?), why wasn’t there a proper instruction book and why on earth wouldn’t it do anything. I was just starting to get mad when I realised it wanted me to plug it into my computer.

I got iTunes downloaded, that part was easy. But then, and this is no exaggeration, it took me about 20 attempts to figure out how to put music on the thing. In the end I had to resort to searching google for help as there was no way I would be able to figure it out myself!

I’m slowly getting used to it now but I still don’t really understand apps, or what I’m really supposed to do! I’m used to buying my MP3’s from Amazon and now I have the iTunes store and it’s all pretty complicated!

I’m sure I’ll get there but if anyone has any real gems of wisdom I’d really appreciate it!

Oh and while all this was going on yesterday I had an email from The Fairy Hobmother from Appliances Online. She flies around the blogmosphere bestowing gifts on bloggers. She gave me vouchers for Amazon so that I can buy myself a little treat. So later I will be spending some time browsing the virtual rails to uncover something to buy myself (or the children!)

If you would like a visit from The Fairy Hobmother then just leave a wish below and who knows you might be visited too!

11 thoughts on “Proving to myself how rubbish with technology I am!

  1. I gave a talk about social media recently and when I confessed that I’d only got an iPhone 2 days before, there was an audible gasp in the room, like it was the world’s most shocking thing to admit to!

    I sympathise with the music thing, I haven’t really worked that out either and seem to have downloaded a bunch of my other half’s tunes by mistake. And my son has taken over my phone so he can play Smurf Village and Angry Birds. But when I wrestle it back off him I really love it, and I hope you learn to love yours too.

  2. iPhones confuse me. I was playing on my brother’s one on Sunday and was getting very stressed out with it, the most I was able to do was play Angry Birds!
    Saying that I got a blackberry about 6 months ago and I’m still not entirely sure I’m using that to it’s full potential…
    On another note I would love the Fairy Hobmother to visit me with a new changing bag 🙂

  3. I fear I’m getting old. I realised this weekend I like garden centres, got well excited as a big one has just opened near us :/ x

  4. I would give away one of my children for an iPhone…or I could buy one…but I can’t justify the cost as a SAHM with no real need for one. I should save my money for Playdough and crayons and sensible things instead. Fairy Hobmother can grant my wishes whenever she likes 🙂

    • It has only cost me £3 more a month than my regular phone so I could justify getting that over another normal one. I buy my crayons etc at Asda to save my pennies, if you haven’t discovered their art supplies then they are brilliant and the price is right!

  5. Hello! I just would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the great information you’ve gotten right here on this post. I will likely be coming again to your blog for more soon.

Leave a comment

